Who Is The Head Of Inec In Nigeria?

Who is the former chairman of INEC?

Jega is the only INEC chairman to oversee two Nigerian General Elections (2011 and 2015). Attahiru Jega.

Attahiru Muhammadu Jega
Succeeded by Amina Zakari
Personal details
Born 11 January 1957 Jega, Kebbi State, Nigeria
Nationality Nigerian

When was INEC established and by who?

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) was established by the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to among other things organize elections into various political offices in the country.

Who was INEC chairman in 1993?

Professor Humphrey Nwosu (born 2 October 1941) was chairman of the National Electoral Commission (NEC) appointed by President Ibrahim Babangida, holding office from 1989 to 1993.

Humphrey Nwosu
In office 1989–1993
Preceded by Eme Awa
Succeeded by Okon Uya
Personal details

Who is the current INEC Chairman 2021?

Mahmood Yakubu (born 1962) is a Nigerian academic and current chairman of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Who is the first INEC chairman in Nigeria?

Leadership. The Chairman of the first Nigerian Federal Electoral Commission was Chief Eyo Esua (1964–1966) in the First Republic.

Who is the chairman of Fedeco?

Michael Ani (30 November 1917 – 18 December 1985) was chairman of the Federal Electoral Commission (FEDECO) established by General Olusegun Obasanjo to conduct elections leading to the Nigerian Second Republic, which was inaugurated on 1 October 1979.

You might be interested:  Question: How Much Is Infinix Zero 5 In Nigeria?

When was NEC established in Nigeria?

The National Economic Council (NEC) was established by the provisions of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, as amended; Section 153(1) and Paragraphs 18 & 19 of Part I of the Third Schedule. The National Economic Council was inaugurated by President Muhammadu Buhari on 29 June 2015.

How is election conducted in Nigeria?

Nigerians elects on the federal level a head of state (the President of Nigeria) and a legislature (the National Assembly). The president is elected by the people. The National Assembly has two chambers. The House of Representatives has 360 members, elected for a four-year term in single-seat constituencies.

What is Option A4?

In modern times, the open ballot, also known as Option A4, was first adopted in the Third Nigerian Republic during the 1993 Nigerian presidential election, an election widely considered by Nigerians as the freest and fairest in the country’s political history.

Related posts

Leave a Comment