Quick Answer: Who Was The Last Colonial Governor Of Nigeria?

Who was the colonial governor of Nigeria?

Nigeria’s Colonial Governor Generals (1912-1960)

Sir Fredrick Lord Lugard 1912 – 1919 First Governor General
Sir Bernard Boundilion 1935 – 1943 5th Governor General
Sir Anthony Richard 1943 – 1948 6th Governor General
Sir John Macpherson 1948 – 1958 7th Governor General
Sir James Robertson 1958 – 1960 8th Governor General

Who is the first governor general of colonial Nigeria?

Governor-General of Nigeria, 1914–1919

Name Took office
Sir Frederick Lugard (1858–1945) 1 January 1914

Who was the third Governor General of Nigeria?

Military rule (1966–1979)

Head of state Term of office
No. Name (birth–death) Time in office
3 General Yakubu Gowon (born 1934) 8 years, 362 days
4 General Murtala Mohammed (1938–1976) 199 days
5 Major general Olusegun Obasanjo (born 1937) 3 years, 258 days

Who was the last governor general before independence?

Louis Mountbatten, Earl Mountbatten of Burma became governor – general and oversaw the transition of British India to independence. Chakravarti Rajagopalachari (1878-1972) became the only Indian and last governor – general after independence.

You might be interested:  Quick Answer: How Many Hours From Nigeria To Ghana By Road?

Who is the first general in Nigeria?

Major General Johnson Thomas Umunnakwe Aguiyi-Ironsi MVO, MBE (3 March 1924 – 29 July 1966) was the first Military Head of State of Nigeria. Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi.

Major General Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi MVO, MBE
Chief of Staff Babafemi Ogundipe
Preceded by Nnamdi Azikiwe
Succeeded by Yakubu Gowon
General Officer Commanding, Nigerian Army


Who is Lord Lugard to Nigeria?

On January 1, 1914, Lord Frederick Lugard, the governor of both the Northern Nigeria Protectorate and the Colony and Protectorate of Southern Nigeria, signed a document consolidating the two, thereby creating the Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria. Forty-six years later in 1960, Nigeria became an independent state.

Who was the first governor in?

Governor-General of India

Viceroy and Governor -General of India
Formation 20 October 1773
First holder Warren Hastings
Final holder Lord Mountbatten (February 1947 – August 1947 as Viceroy of India) Chakravarthi Rajagopalachari (1948–1950 as Governor -general of Dominion of India)
Abolished 26 January 1950

Who is first governor of Lagos State?

In May 1967, Lagos State was created and Johnson became the first governor of Lagos; the state was now composed of the old Federal Territory of Victoria Island, Ikoyi and Lagos Island plus the additions of the Epe, Badagry, Ikorodu and Ikeja divisions.

Who was the governor general in 1955?

In August 1955, Major General Iskander Mirza took over as Governor General when Ghulam Muhammad became too ill to continue.

Who is the head of governors?

National Governors Association
Chair Andrew Cuomo (D-NY)
Vice Chair Asa Hutchinson (R-AR)
Executive Committee Charlie Baker (R-MA) Doug Ducey (R-AZ) Larry Hogan (R-MD) Kay Ivey (R-AL) Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM) Jared Polis (D-CO) Gretchen Whitmer (D-MI)
Founded 1908
You might be interested:  Readers ask: Ay Is From Which State In Nigeria?

Who is the longest serving head of state in Nigeria?

Gowon’s rise to power following the July 1966 counter-coup cemented military rule in Nigeria. Consequently, Gowon is the longest serving head of state of Nigeria, ruling for almost nine years until his overthrow in the coup d’état of 1975 by Brigadier Murtala Mohammed.

What is difference between Governor and Governor General?

Governors – General and Viceroys were the main administrative cogs of British India who saw to it that the “Jewel in the Crown” of the British Empire. Difference Between Governor – General and Viceroy.

Governor – General Viceroy
Chakravarti Rajagopalachari was the last Governor – General Lord Louis Mountbatten was the last Viceroy

What is difference between Viceroy and Governor General?

Governor General was the head of all governors of states under East India Company. After the power shifted in the hands of British Crown, Viceroy was appointed, who was the head of colonial India and governed the territory on behalf of British Crown.

Who is the first woman governor of West Bengal?


S. No. Name State
1 Sarojini Naidu Uttar Pradesh
2 Padmaja Naidu West Bengal
3 Vijayalakshmi Pandit Maharashtra
4 Sharda Mukherjee Andhra Pradesh


Related posts

Leave a Comment