Question: Nigeria Is Divided Into How Many Geopolitical Zones?

What are the 6 geopolitical zones in Nigeria?

Nigeria, for ease of political and regional administration is divided into six geopolitical zones, thirty six States and one Federal Capital Territory (FCT), which are: North-East (Yobe, Borno, Bauchi, Gombe, Adamawa & Taraba States); North Central (Niger, Nasarawa, Kwara, Kogi, Benue, Plateau & FCT); North West (

What are the 6 geopolitical zones?

The six geopolitical zones are North-Central, North-West, North-East, South-South, South-East and South-West.

What are the 3 regions in Nigeria?

At the time of independence in 1960, Nigeria was a Federal State of three Regions: Northern, Western, and Eastern.

How many regions are there in Nigeria?

As Nigeria preparded for independence, the British worked out an arrangement which divided Nigeria into four regions.

How many states are in southern Nigeria?

The South – South region of Nigeria comprises of six states and is strategically located at the point where the Y tail of the river Niger joins the Atlantic Ocean through the Gulf of Guinea.

You might be interested:  Quick Answer: Nigeria How To Check How Much Da You Have Left On Mtn?

How many states are in Nigeria including FCT?

Nigeria is a Federal Presidential Republic. It is divided into 36 states, and Abuja, which has the status of Federal Capital Territory ( FCT ). The 36 states and the FCT are grouped into six geopolitical zones: North Central (7 states ): Niger, Kogi, Benue, Plateau, Nasarawa (Nassarawa), Kwara and FCT.

What are examples of geopolitics?

These include area studies, climate, topography, demography, natural resources, and applied science of the region being evaluated. Geopolitics focuses on political power linked to geographic space.

Who created the six geopolitical zones in Nigeria?

In 1993, General Sani Abacha created six geopolitical zones in Nigeria.

How is Nigeria divided?

Administrative divisions Nigeria is divided into thirty-six states and one Federal Capital Territory, which are further sub- divided into 774 local government areas. In some contexts, the states are aggregated into six geopolitical zones: North West, North East, North Central, South West, South East, and South South.

Who are the 4 major groups in Nigeria?

According to estimations from 2018, Nigeria’s major ethnic groups are Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo (Ibo), and Fulani. Hausa people are estimated to make up 30 percent of the country’s population. Hausa is an ethnic group of people speaking the Hausa language.

Who created 12 states in Nigeria?

The Creation of States General Yakubu Gowon created twelve states out of the four regions that existed at that time appointing a governor to head them.

Which state is the oldest state in Nigeria?

The First and Oldest Storey Building in Nigeria Deducing from the dates of creation of states in the country, Cross River, Lagos, Kaduna, Kano, Kwara and Rivers states respectively are the oldest states in Nigeria.

You might be interested:  Often asked: Aba Is In Which State In Nigeria?

What does province mean in Nigeria?

The Provinces of Nigeria are a former administrative division in Nigeria, which were in use in Colonial Nigeria and shortly after independence; from 1900 to 1967. They were altered many times through their history. They were divided into divisions, some of these were further subdivided into native authorities.

How many states are in eastern Nigeria?

The region was officially divided in 1967 into three new states, the East -Central State,South- Eastern State. East -Central State had its capital at Enugu, which is now part of Enugu State. Eastern Region, Nigeria.

Eastern Region
Country Nigeria
Autonomized 1 October 1954
Dissolved 27 May 1967
Capital Enugu


How many regions were in Nigeria before independence?

The Federation of Nigeria was granted full independence on 1 October 1960 under a constitution that provided for a parliamentary government and a substantial measure of self-government for the country’s three regions.

Related posts

Leave a Comment