FAQ: Who Is The Current President Of Nigeria?

What is the full name of the current president of Nigeria?

Muhammadu Buhari

His Excellency Muhammadu Buhari GCFR
Assumed office 30 May 2015
Vice President Yemi Osinbajo
Preceded by Goodluck Jonathan


Who gave name Nigeria?

The name “ Nigeria ” was coined by the future Lady Lugard in an 1897 London Times article. With Lord Lugard’s arbitrary conception of Nigeria in mind, one can begin to see the many and varied problems colonialism created in Nigeria, across West Africa, and around the world.

How much is the salary of Nigeria President?

President of Nigeria

President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria
Formation October 1, 1963
Deputy Vice President of Nigeria
Salary ₦30,000,000 annually
Website www.statehouse.gov.ng


How many children does Buhari have?

Aisha and Muhammadu Buhari have five children together and one grandchild.

Who are the Nigerian leaders?

Living former heads of state

Name Term/Reign Office
Muhammadu Buhari 1983–1985 2015–present Military ruler President of Nigeria
Ibrahim Babangida 1985–1993 Military ruler
Ernest Shonekan 1993 Interim president
Abdulsalami Abubakar 1998–1999 Military ruler

How many divisions are in Nigerian Army?

Nigerian Army | 7 Division.

You might be interested:  Quick Answer: How Many Local Government Area Do We Have In Nigeria?

Is Buhari the minister of petroleum?

President Muhammadu Buhari appointed Dr. Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu as the Minister of State and Petroleum Resources in November 2015. He was replaced by Timipre Sylva who took over the Ministerial portfolio in August 2019.

How was Buhari overthrown?

The 1985 Nigerian coup d’état was a military coup which took place in Nigeria on 27 August 1985 when a faction of mid-level Armed Forces officers, led by the Chief of Army Staff General Ibrahim Babangida, overthrew the government of Major General Muhammadu Buhari (who himself took power in the 1983 coup d’état).

What is the rank of Buhari in Nigeria Army?

Muhammadu Buhari
Allegiance Nigeria
Branch/service Nigerian Army
Years of service 1961–1985
Rank Major General


Who is the first Vice President of Nigeria?

Vice President of Nigeria

Vice President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria
Term length 4 years, renewable once
Constituting instrument Constitution of Nigeria
Inaugural holder Babafemi Ogundipe (Military) Alex Ifeanyichukwu Ekwueme (Elected)
Formation January 16, 1966


Related posts

Leave a Comment